Murdoch University Research Repository

Welcome to the Murdoch University Research Repository

The Murdoch University Research Repository is an open access digital collection of research
created by Murdoch University staff, researchers and postgraduate students.

Learn more

The AE1 and the AE2: The Royal Australian Navy's first submarines

Chambers, I. (2012) The AE1 and the AE2: The Royal Australian Navy's first submarines. The Great Circle: Journal of the Australian Association for Maritime History, 34 (1). pp. 8-25.

Link to Published Version:;res=...
*Subscription may be required


Representatives of the British Admiralty and the Australian government met at the Imperial Conference on Defence in August 1909, and their subsequent discussions resulted in a decision to proceed with the establishment of an Australian Fleet Unit. The first units of this Navy, the destroyers HMAS Yarra and Parramatta, reached Australia in November 1910 and, on 10 July 1911, King George V granted the title of 'Royal Australian Navy' to the Australian Naval Forces.1 Prior to this, in December 1910, Australia had ordered two submarines from the Vickers Maxim shipyards at Barrow-in-Furness. The Commonwealth government was quoted 105,415 for each boat, with delivery of the first being due on 7 December 1912 and the second on 18 January 1913.2 They were to be boats of the British E class which Australia prefixed with 'A', and they were then named the AE1 and AE2.

Item Type: Journal Article
Murdoch Affiliation(s): School of Social Sciences and Humanities
Publisher: Australian Association for Maritime History
Item Control Page Item Control Page